Radiance, In Memory of Christina Tarsell

Jonathan Leshnoff (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
  • Piano


It is a difficult task to answer a commission from a grieving mother on the loss of her daughter, but Leshnoff has crafted a piano quintet that captures the young woman's essence along with the sorrow at her passing. "[Radiance] contrasts the lively ups and downs of youth in the opening with the darker mood of tragic loss. The piece opens with bright rising lines, the principal motive of the work, and progresses from a contemplative moment. Afterwards, dark, soaring lines predominate. Surprisingly, the piece resolves in light, culminating with an ethereal echo of the initial melody, leaving us with a sense of transformation." (Emily Tarsell)
SKU: 494-02994
Ensemble: Piano Quintet
Duration: 14:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned by Emily Tarsell
Publisher: Leshnoff Publishing
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 0.6 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-62741-7
ISBN: 978-1-4911-2130-6
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.