Peanuts Gallery

The making of Ellen Taaffe Zwilich's suite for piano and orchestra, Includes interviews with Charles M. Schulz, Ellen Taaffe Zwilich, and a live performance

In 1990, Charles M. Schulz saluted Zwilich in the Peanuts strip for her flute concerto. This led to a fast friendship between the two talents and Zwilich's masterwork Peanuts Gallery, a six-movement piano concerto, each movement illustrates a favorite character from the comic strip. Florida State University produced a documentary, also featured on PBS, of the collaboration that led to the creation of Peanuts Gallery. The DVD is a fascinating documentary on the making of Peanuts Gallery, featuring interviews with Charles M. Schulz, Jean (Mrs. Charles M.) Schulz, and composer Ellen Taaffe Zwilich about their creative processes. The video also features a live performance by the Florida State University Orchestra with piano soloist James Nalley, conducted by Alex Jimenez (including Snoopy dancing the Samba!).
SKU: 448-00001
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Duration: 27:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Accompanied: Concerto
Weight: 0.2 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-63273-2
ISBN: 978-1-4911-0257-2
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.