Concerto for Flute and Orchestra

Behzad Ranjbaran (composer)
Piccolo, Flute 1, Flute 2, Oboe 1, Oboe 2, Clarine...


A chance meeting after the Philadelphia Orchestra's performance of Ranjbaran's piano Concerto led principal flutist Jeffrey Khaner to ask the composer why he didn't write a concerto for flute. Ranjbaran's response "Why not?" has resulted in a major new concerto for the flute, one already making its mark in the repertoire. "Much of the music has a florid, sensuous feel, making consistent use of Middle Eastern scales and evocations of the ney, a Persian folk flute…Ranjbaran marries that to an all-out virtuoso cast for his soloist, which had the effect of making it sound turbocharged." (Greg Stepanich, Palm Beach ArtsPaper)
SKU: 416-41515
Ensemble: Full Orchestra Concerto
Duration: 28:00
Tempo: Grave Lamentoso (q = 46)
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Philadelphia Orchestra Association
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Score Type: Study Score
Product Type: Score
Accompanied: Concerto
Page count: 126
Weight: 1 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-62174-3
ISBN: 978-1-59806-902-0
I. Grave lamentoso—Allegro con spirito
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Presto giocoso
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.