Inner Demons

for String Orchestra

Stacy Garrop (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
  • Contrabass
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
Inner Demons depicts a man as he loses his mind. This piece contains four themes: a tarantella, a demented waltz, a scherzo, and the Appalachian folk hymn "The Wayfaring Stranger." The themes are stated quite briskly until arriving at the hymn. This theme consumes the man; it destroys his mind and he melts down. As his mind is slowly rebuilt, his thoughts become increasingly chaotic, until elements of all four themes are heard simultaneously. Inner Demons is an arrangement of the third and second movements (in this order) of my String Quartet No. 2: Demons and Angels. -S.G.
SKU: 416-41495
Duration: 11:30
Tempo: Dancing; Slowly Going Insane (q. = 132)
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Score Type: Full Score
Product Type: Score
Page count: 36
UPC: 6-80160-61778-4
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.