Stacy Garrop (composer)
Flute 1, Flute 2 (Piccolo), Oboe 1, Oboe 2, Clarin...
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
Thunderwalker is built on two overlapping edifices. The first encompasses the form of each movement: the first movement is a fugue, the second is a ground bass (passacaglia), and the third is a scherzo-trio. The second abstract structure is derived from what the title suggested to me. I see a thunderwalker as a huge god-like figure who lives in the sky and whose footsteps fall loudly among the clouds. If I were a member of a pre-modern earth society and wanted to get the god-like figure's attention, I would go through a ritual cleansing ceremony (movement 1), then invoke him over and over again (movement 2) until I had summoned him (movement 3). -S.G.
SKU: 416-41494
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Duration: 12:30
Tempo: With Fire (q = 160)
Dedication: for Claude Baker
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Score Type: Full Score
Product Type: Score
Page count: 64
UPC: 6-80160-61776-0
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.