Shuo, Study Score

for String Orchestra

Chen Yi (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
  • Contrabass


Chen's string orchestra setting springs from the first movement of her 1982 quartet, and becomes a shimmering, sparkling amalgam of folk singing from her native China. Indeed, a singing viola cadenza opens the work, later echoed by violin, all leading to a brilliant finale. A YouTube excerpt is available from a performance at the Beijing Modern Music Festival.
SKU: 416-41210
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Duration: 8:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Score Type: Full Score
Product Type: Score
Weight: 0.23125 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-09184-3
ISBN: 978-1-59806-623-4
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.