for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble

Solo Alto Saxophone in E, Flute 1, Flute 2, Clari...


A major addition to the saxophone concerto repertoire, Zwilich’s three-movement work is inspired by her early experience playing in big bands, along with a love of rich textures and driving rhythms interrupted by striking silences. The centerpiece slow movement is scored for only the soloist and the ensemble’s sax section, with all other players tacet. A large-size full score, and a solo part with piano, are available separately. The US Navy Band's world premiere may be viewed at
SKU: 145-40036
Ensemble: Wind Ensemble Concerto
Duration: 11:30
Tempo: h = 76
Dedication: Dedicated to Kenneth C. Collins and C.S. White, Conductors, Dana Booher, Alto Saxophone soloist, and the United States Navy Band.
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the United States Navy Band
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Concerto
Page count: 156
UPC: 6-80160-69105-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3760-4
I. Conversations
II. Lamentation
III. Games
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.