Isabelle Dances

For Solo Marimba

Steven Stucky (composer)


  • Marimba


Composed for percussionist Isabelle Huang, the 15-minute suite Isabelle Dances, a sonic landscape for marimba, is explored in the course of four movements. The outer movements (Bounce and Stomp) showcase the marimba’s rhythmic drive and highly-charged neo-primitivism, while the inner movements (Dream and Hover) consist of inventive tremolos, evoking the unfolding of time. The second and fourth movements are subtitled as homages to Chopin and to Bartók. For advanced players. Dur.: 15’
SKU: 144-40552
Duration: 15:00
Tempo: Molto Fluido - Tutti I Gruppi Ritmichi Marcati Chi (q = 92)
Dedication: for Isabelle Huang
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Accompanied: Unaccompanied Solo
Page count: 20
Weight: 0.2 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-59766-6
ISBN: 978-1-59806-406-3
1. Bounce
2. Dream - homage to Chopin
3. Hover
4. Stomp - homage to Bartók
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.