Piano Quintet

In Memory of Robert M. Palmer

Steven Stucky (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
  • Piano
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
A single-span structure is designed to be sturdy enough to withstand frequent shifts of topic, mood swings, tempos changing gears. In this instance, the music tends to be either very slow and introspective, or very fast, hyperactive, extroverted. It is the tug between these two personality types that drives the music forward. --Program Note. "A listener couldn't help but be drawn to mid-20th-century Eastern Europe. In the percussive piano clusters and tense strings of the beginning, the mournful chorale-like section that followed and an abrasive, teeth-on-edge section in the middle. There were echoes of Alfred Schnittke and Dmitri Shostakovich; lively rhythmic transitions and pungent harmonies recalled Béla Bartók. One short, repeated figure in quintuple time sounded like a quote from Dave Brubeck's 'Take Five.'" --James McQuillen, Oregon Live, The Oregonian.
SKU: 144-40547
Ensemble: Piano Quintet
Duration: 17:00
Tempo: Allegro Energico E Selvaggio (q = 152)
Commission Notice: Commissioned by Chamber Music Northwest and the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 0.7375 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-59562-4
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.