Cello Concerto

Jay Reise (composer)
Solo Violoncello, Piccolo, Oboe, Clarinet in B, B...
Score and Parts
Available on Rental
The Concerto for Cello and Thirteen Players is cast in three movements in a traditional fast-slow-fast configuration. The piece lasts approximately 23 minutes. It was written for and is dedicated to Ulrich Boeckheler, James Freeman and Orchestra 2001. The cadenzas in the first and last movements were written first, and the substance of the rest of the piece is derived from them. The cadenzas also formed the basis of a short spin-off piece, "Dragonflies Sing Near", which was written in two versions, for guitar solo and piano left hand alone, each recently performed in Philadelphia. I employ my method of rhythmic counterpoint, which involves the combining of rhythmic motifs transformed into numerous guises, throughout the piece.
SKU: 116-40989
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Duration: 26:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Concerto
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.