String Quartet No. 6

Lowell Liebermann (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
Custom Print


Made available from composer's original edition
A modern master contemplates the past and looks to the future in Lowell Liebermann’s STRING QUARTET No. 6. Composed for the renowned Dover Quartet, Liebermann’s quartet is supremely expressive throughout. Cast in the unique frame of two Adagio movements (with many changes of mood and tempo within), the piece reconsiders the ancient forms of the ricercare, and the chaconne and fantasia, respectively. The second movement includes prominent quotations from the climactic scene of Mozart’s Don Giovanni, in which the slain Commendatore’s statue calls Don Giovanni to his fate from beyond the grave.
SKU: 114-42439
Ensemble: String Quartet
Duration: 25:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Arizona Friends of Chamber Music, sponsored in loving memory of David Cornell by Joyce Cornell.
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 92
UPC: 6-80160-69167-8
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.