for Clarinet, Horn, and Piano

Stacy Garrop (composer)


  • Clarinet in B
  • Horn in F
  • Piano
Custom Print


Made available from composer's original edition
“The first time I saw slipstreaming in action with professional cyclists, I was in awe,” says Stacy Garrop about the inspiration behind her composition SLIPSTREAM for clarinet, horn, and piano. Originally written for performers who are also avid cyclists, Garrop describes various kinds of cycling experiences depicted in the work’s three movements: “The piece opens with The Horizon Beckons. A cyclist hears an enticing call emanating from the mountains, then the cyclist starts pedaling towards the mountains in search of adventure. Riding Solo, the second movement, explores the quiet of riding alone, the beauty of the landscape, and the shifting of the light and clouds, all while we hear the bike’s wheels in constant motion. Adrenaline Rush, the third and final movement, depicts the heat of competition. We hear the constant jockeying of cyclists within a peloton as they slipstream with each other and move with the wind. At the very end of the movement, we hear sprinters race for the finish line with everything they have left in their legs.”
SKU: 114-42364
Duration: 14:15
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Dallas Symphony Orchestra, Music Director Fabio Luisi, for Haley Hoops, horn, and the second Women in Classical Music symposium, November 2020, Dallas, Texas
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 60
UPC: 6-80160-68856-2
The Horizon Beckons
Riding Solo
Adrenaline Rush
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.