for Bassoon and Piano

Amanda Harberg (composer)


  • Bassoon
  • Piano


This stunning addition to the bassoon repertory features dramatic outer movements framing a slow and plaintive aria. Harberg’s program notes put the drama and its crying-out high notes in the context of writing in 2021: “The composition was deeply influenced by disruptive forces unfolding around us. While this unrest made writing difficult at times and brought me to uncomfortable places within myself, the process was also full of unexpected discoveries and musical solutions I never would have found in less troubled times.” The world premiere, performed by bassoonist Adrian Morejon with the composer at the piano, is available at
SKU: 114-42335
Duration: 16:00
Dedication: to Adrian Morejon
Commission Notice: Commissioned by Adrian Morejon and 28 co-commissioners
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Page count: 44
UPC: 6-80160-68633-9
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3511-2
1. Introduction and Toccata
2. Andante
3. Scherzo
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.