Night Thoughts

for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano

Chen Yi (composer)


  • Clarinet in B
  • Cello
  • Piano
Custom Print


Made available from composer's original edition
With endlessly imaginative timbral and textural invention, Chen Yi weaves an ethereal and alluring nocturnal tapestry of sounds in Night Thoughts. The melodic construction is often gestural and freely chromatic, yet at other times openly melodic, with a sense of folk-like spontaneity. Special techniques like key slaps, exaggerated vibrato, trilled glissandi, and struck piano strings add interest as various combinations of instruments and registers are explored, until the music drifts finally and hauntingly into the night.
SKU: 114-42321
Duration: 00:08:00
Tempo: q = 66
Dedication: Dedicated to Heather A. Hitchens, president of Meet The Composer
Commission Notice: co-commissioned by the Virginia Arts Festival, Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, La Jolla SummerFest, and Chamber Music Northwest, and supported by Meet The Composer's Commissioning/USA program
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 28
UPC: 6-80160-68801-2
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.