Concerto for Piccolo and Orchestra

Solo Part and Piano Reduction

Amanda Harberg (composer)


  • Piccolo
  • Piano
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
Cast in three dramatically contrasting and colorful movements—an elegant opening reminiscent of a Classical Sonata-allegro, a tender lullaby, and a closing, raucous scherzo—Amanda Harberg's Concerto For Piccolo and Orchestra evolved from her piccolo sonata, following a commission from Philadelphia Orchestra piccoloist Erica Peel. Yannick Nézet-Séguin, who led the premiere, praised the concerto as "an extraordinary addition” to the piccolo’s limited repertoire. He notes that "Amanda’s creativity and unique voice are on full display in this work. Simply in choosing to explore the piccolo’s middle and lower voices, she quietly shrugs off the mundane and explores the unexpected. This isn’t performative, or different for the sake of being different: Amanda simply sought to highlight a particular aspect of the piccolo’s beauty which is often overlooked. This spirit—of curiosity for curiosity’s sake, of seeking out hidden loveliness as opposed to what is immediately apparent—pervades Amanda’s work." Harberg's piccolo concerto will undoubtedly remain an important and beloved fixture of the instrument's repertoire for years to come, rewarding listeners with its individual blend of new and old.
SKU: 114-42298
Duration: 15:00
Dedication: for Erica Peel
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Page count: 48
UPC: 6-80160-68613-1
I. Allegro
II. Moderato, dreamy
III. Vivace
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.