Rites for the Afterlife

for Reed Quintet (Oboe/English Horn, Clarinet, Soprano/Alto Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon)

Stacy Garrop (composer)
Oboe (English Horn), Clarinet in B, Alto Saxophon...
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
Garrop does not shy away from the heaviest topics in her compositions. In Rites for the Afterlife, she paints a portrait of the ancient Egyptian culture's reverence for death, the preparation for it and the beliefs in what comes next. Scored for oboe (doubling English horn), Bb clarinet, soprano (doubling alto) saxophone, bass Bb clarinet, and bassoon. Rites for the Afterlife was the result of Garrop's winning the 2018 Barlow Prize.
SKU: 114-41998
Duration: 16:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Barlow Endowment on behalf of the Akropolis Reed Quintet, Calefax Reed Quintet, and the Brigham Young University Reed Quintet
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 112
UPC: 6-80160-68172-3
I. Inscriptions from the Book of the Dead
II. Passage through the Netherworld
III. The Hall of Judgment
IV. The Field of Reeds
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.