Concerto for Viola, Strings, and Percussion

Solo Part and Piano Reduction

Stacy Garrop (composer)


  • Viola
  • Piano


Part of the cataclysmic drama of Krakatoa’s four volcanic explosions in one day was the historic death and destruction it brought, along with booms heard over 3000 miles away. For those living in its shadow, the eerie fear of waiting for what’s next was at least as intense as the eruptions. Garrop’s concerto for viola, with an orchestra using only strings and percussion, captures the full emotion and drama of the day. Garrop’s KRAKATOA is at once a concerto and a tone poem with movements titled Imminent, Explosion, and Dormant. The composer’s piano reduction has been created with recital performance in mind. A complete performance with orchestra may be heard at
SKU: 114-41986
Duration: 21:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Score Type: Piano Reduction
Product Type: Score
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Page count: 48
Weight: 0.414 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-68112-9
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3786-4
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.