Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble

Stacy Garrop (composer)


  • Alto Saxophone in E
  • Piano
Score and Parts; Book with Insert
Both a spectacular concerto for saxophone, and a dramatic tone poem on Roman mythology, QUICKSILVER is a 23-minute concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble by one of the sax literature’s most commissioned and admired composers. Through worded captions as well as gorgeously expressive tone painting, Movement 1 depicts the birth and childhood pranks of Mercury, Movement 2 shows him escorting souls to the gates of the Underworld, and Movement 3 is a phantasmagoric finale portraying Mercury as messenger amid the conflicts of other mythological figures.
SKU: 114-41985
Duration: 23:00
Commission Notice: Appalachian State University • John Stanley Ross, conductor • Scott Kallestad, saxophone Arizona State University • Gary W. Hill, conductor • Christopher Creviston, saxophone Baylor University • J. Eric Wilson, conductor • Michael N. Jacobson, saxophone Butler University and the Butler University chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi • Michael J. Colburn, conductor • Heidi Radtke, saxophone Carthage College • James Ripley, conductor • Andrew Carpenter, saxophone Louisiana State University • Damon Talley, conductor • Griffin Campbell, saxophone Penn State University and the Margot Music Fund • Dennis Glocke, conductor • David Stambler, saxophone SUNY Potsdam • Brian K. Doyle, conductor (head of consortium) • Casey Grev, saxophone University of Alabama • Kenneth Ozzello, conductor • Jonathan Noffsinger, saxophone University of Massachusetts Amherst • Matthew Westgate, conductor • Jonathan Hulting-Cohen, saxophone University of Michigan at Ann Arbor • Michael Haithcock, conductor • Timothy McAllister, saxophone University of Nebraska-Lincoln • Carolyn Barber, conductor • Paul Haar, saxophone University of North Carolina at Greensboro • John R. Locke and Kevin M. Geraldi, conductors • Steven Stusek, saxophone University of Oregon • Rodney Dorsey, conductor • Idit Shner, saxophone University of South Carolina • Scott Weiss, conductor • Clifford Leaman, saxophone
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Page count: 66
UPC: 6-80160-68104-4
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3580-8
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.