Double Concerto


for Bb Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, and Wind Ensemble

Carter Pann (composer)


  • Clarinet in B
  • Alto Saxophone in E
  • Piano


In a musical style strongly influenced by (and occasionally parodying) American popular music, the subtitle “Baroque” may seem a puzzle at first. It is also the key to Pann’s approach in composing for multiple wind soloists and ensemble. With Bach’s Brandenburgs in the rear-view mirror, Pann has created a glorious hybrid of inspirations with intricate counterpoint, cadenzas, beautiful slow textures, and wild rides, creating a 16-minute, fast-slow-fast concerto grosso. The published piano reduction is fully practical for live performance.
SKU: 114-41972
Duration: 16:00
Commission Notice: DOUBLE CONCERTO “Baroque” was commissioned by David Stambler for a consortium of 15 Duos and Wind Ensembles around the United States
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 60
UPC: 6-80160-68579-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3486-3
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.