Suite for Wind Quintet

Amanda Harberg (composer)


  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • Clarinet in B
  • Horn in F
  • Bassoon


The depth and charming inventiveness of Harberg’s Suite can only be described as remarkable. Each movement has a degree of archaic inspiration (seen in the movement titles), newly stirred up into dramatic, exciting sounds and stories. Cantus begins with the imitative entries of Renaissance motets and maintains a modal flavor. Furlana plays on the Italian folk dance rhythm in 6, punctuated by lots of unexpected 5’s. Fantasia hints at being a lullaby with an animated middle section, and the closing Cabaletta is true to its 19th-century meaning of an ornate closing section following beautiful lyricism.
SKU: 114-41949
Ensemble: Woodwind Quintet
Duration: 18:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Dorian Quintet
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 112
Weight: 0.85 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-67732-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3143-5
1. Cantus
2. Furlana
3. Fantasia
4. Cabaletta
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.