Stacy Garrop (composer)


  • Viola
  • Piano


This tour de force consists of two movements that are complete opposites. Movement I, titled Momentum, starts with the viola and piano aggressively  sharing a single note. Things start swirling out of control: the music gains greater and greater tension as the musicians turn and twist their way into ever smaller spirals, right up to the end of the movement. Movement II, titled Stasis, offers a peaceful, gentle unwinding of the pressure. Torque was commissioned by the Barlow Endowment for violist Viacheslav Dinerchtein.
SKU: 114-41828
Duration: 13:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Barlow Endowment for Music Composition at Brigham Young University
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Page count: 28
Weight: 0.3 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-64098-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-1458-2
I. Momentum
II. Stasis
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.