Concerto for Viola and Orchestra

Behzad Ranjbaran (composer)


  • Viola
  • Piano


Commissioned by the Santa Rosa Symphony for Paul Silverthorne, principal violist of the London Symphony, the character of this grand three-movement work may best be described in the composer’s own words: “If I had to describe the character of each instrument in the orchestra, I would consider the viola to be the voice of wisdom, moderation, and prudence. However I find there is much flair and brilliance hidden beneath the surface. In my viola concerto I aimed to explore these contrasts: beauty and sweetness; agitation and angst; brilliance and virtuosity.”
SKU: 114-41788
Duration: 25:00
Tempo: Adagio (h = 56)
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Santa Rosa Symphony, Resident Orchestra of the Green Music Center, Bruno Ferrandis, Music Director
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Page count: 52
Weight: 0.35 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-63708-9
ISBN: 978-1-4911-3166-4
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.