for Bb Clarinet and Piano

Amanda Harberg (composer)


  • Clarinet in B
  • Piano


Amanda Harberg's Sonata for Bb Clarinet and Piano is a substantial addition to the clarinet repertoire. With a uniquely American sound, Harberg gives voice to the clarinet's expressive and virtuosic powers within a traditional three-movement sonata. The first movement begins with a sweetly mellifluous melody contrasted by a playful secondary theme, as a nostalgic exploration of youthful innocence. The second movement serves as a bridge into another emotional space, colored by sadness and loss. The final movement transforms the material from the opening movement into an insistent dance exploding with dark, agitated energy. For advanced performers.
SKU: 114-41747
Duration: 12:00
Tempo: Gentle yet expressive (q = 80)
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.3 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-63404-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-0266-4
1. Gentle, Playful
2. Interlude
3. Agitato
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.