For Violin, Cello, And Piano

Stacy Garrop (composer)


  • Violin
  • Violoncello
  • Piano


60 years ago, Chicago classical music station WFMT began life on a shoestring, not knowing whether it had a future or not. Today, WFMT produces and distributes programs to more than 650 U.S. and international outlets. To commemorate its 60th birthday, WFMT commissioned a new work by Stacy Garrop, Jubilation, about which the composer says, "The piece contains three main themes: a serene, beautiful melody that opens the piece and recurs in various guises throughout; a very fast, energetic theme that uses a 9/8 - 8/8 - 7/8 meter, which corresponds to the station's frequency, 98.7 FM; and a sultry tango requested by Desirée Ruhstrat, the violinist of the Lincoln Trio, which premiered the piece. Altogether, these themes take the audience on a joyful, high-energy romp that pays tribute to WFMT's spirited past, present and future." For advanced performers.
SKU: 114-41732
Ensemble: Piano Trio
Duration: 6:30
Tempo: Joyous (q. = 96)
Commission Notice: Commissioned by WFMT, celebrating 60 years of classical music and fine arts broadcasting.
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 44
UPC: 6-80160-63181-0
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.