Flight of Icarus

for Saxophone Quartet

Stacy Garrop (composer)


  • Soprano Saxophone in B
  • Alto Saxophone in E
  • Tenor Saxophone in B
  • Baritone Saxophone in E
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
One of Garrop's early compositions was a saxophone quartet, naturally enough, as she was then a high school saxophone player. When commissioned by the Capitol Quartet, Garrop thought to recapture the sense of "soaring" that was evidenced in that earlier work, and found herself contemplating the story of Daedalus and Icarus. "The two-movement work is a series of piquant and brooding episodes portraying Icarus' tragic voyage and the sorrowful aftermath. The ensemble gave Garrop's alluring brainstorm a performance of riveting intensity." (Donald Rosenberg, The Plain Dealer)
SKU: 114-41723
Ensemble: Saxophone Quartet
Duration: 14:00
Tempo: Somber (q = 48)
Commission Notice: Commissioned by the Margot Music Fund and the Capitol Quartet Christopher Creviston - soprano saxophone, Joseph Lulloff - alto saxophone, David Stambler - tenor saxophone, Andrew Dahlke - baritone saxophone
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 76
UPC: 6-80160-63123-0
I. Icarus Ascending
II. Daedalus Mourns
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.