Cape May Breezes

For Wind Quintet

Daniel Dorff (composer)


  • Flute
  • Oboe
  • Clarinet in B
  • Horn in F
  • Bassoon


Inspired by the quaint beach town at the southern tip of New Jersey, Dorff’s five-movement suite is a natural outgrowth of the composer’s blend of pastoral beauty, bubbling scherzos, and iridescent wind writing. The movement titles depict a day in Cape May: I. Breezing Into Town (Exit 0); II. Autumn Monarch Migration (Fluttering Fields of Orange); III. Victorian Garden Party (Sarabande, Bourrée, Gigue); IV. Dusk at Sunset Beach; and V. Night Breezes on the Boardwalk. Each movement of the 18-minute quintet may also stand alone for shorter programming needs. Cape May Breezes was written for and dedicated to Jenny Cline for The Monmouth Winds, who adds, "The music is filled with imagery and the audience will be able to hear the joyful beginning of a vacation, delicate fluttering butterfly wings, the musical entertainment at a party, a beautiful sunset and mournful Taps at a flag ceremony, and exploding fireworks after dark."
SKU: 114-41662
Ensemble: Woodwind Quintet
Duration: 18:00
Dedication: Commissioned by and dedicated to Jenny Cline for The Monmouth Winds
Commission Notice: Commissioned by and dedicated to Jenny Cline for The Monmouth Winds
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 0.7 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-62418-8
ISBN: 978-1-59806-951-8
I. Breezing Into Town (Exit 0)
II. Autumn Monarch Migration (Fluttering Clouds of Orange)
III. Victorian Garden Party
IV. Dusk at Sunset Beach
V. Night Breezes on the Boardwalk
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.