Flowers of St. Francis

Five Scenes for solo Bass Clarinet

Daniel Dorff (composer)


  • Bass Clarinet in B


Inspired by a commissioned premiere at the International Clarinet Association’s 2013 ClarinetFest in Assisi, and by his penchant for creating musical works depicting nature, composer and bass clarinetist Daniel Dorff has created a suite of five picturesque scenes of St. Francis of Assisi’s commune with nature. Each movement is a dialog between St. Francis (represented by pure chantlike melody) and an element of nature (flowers, birds, an angry wolf, fish, starry skies), offering an opportunity to dramatically showcase the wide range of textures and contrasts available from the bass clarinet. For advanced performers. Dur.: 14'
SKU: 114-41600
Duration: 14:00
Commission Notice: Commissioned and premiered by Barbara Haney at the 2013 International Clarinet Association's ClarinetFest, Assisi, Italy
State List / Editors Choice: UIL PML
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Accompanied: Unaccompanied Solo
Weight: 0.15 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-61591-9
ISBN: 978-1-59806-498-8
I. The Flowers, Celebrated by St. Francis
II. St. Francis Preaching to the Birds
III. St. Francis Pacifying the Wolf
IV. St. Francis Preaching to the Fish
V. The Starry Skies, Celebrated by St. Francis
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.