Trio for Horn, Violin, and Piano

Eric Ewazen (composer)


  • Horn in F
  • Violin
  • Piano


Commissioned by Chamberosity, Eric Ewazen’s Trio for Horn, Violin, and Piano pays homage to Brahms’ work for the same instruments. Ewazen’s four movements are modeled after the Brahms, with a slow-fast-slow-fast scheme. A mysterious first movement accumulates depth and momentum, then returns to the gentle world of the opening. The second movement is a rip-roaring scherzo, with melodies tossed between the violin and horn. The melancholy third movement features long lyric melodies, and the final movement, following an austere introduction, turns into a grand fugue, full of life and excitement. For advanced performers.
SKU: 114-41492
Duration: 21:00
Dedication: for Chamberosity - Jeffrey Forden, Linda Sinanian, and Christine Doré
Commission Notice: Commissioned by Chamberosity
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 84
Weight: 0.5 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-59847-2
ISBN: 978-1-59806-784-2
I. Andante teneramente
II. Scherzo
III. Andante grazioso
IV. Maestoso
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.