For Clarinet, Harp, 2 Violins, Viola, Cello, and Double Bass

Behzad Ranjbaran (composer)
Clarinet in B, Harp, Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, V...
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
Isfahan is the gem of Iran. Its second largest city is also the 2006 Cultural Capital of the Muslim World, and its Imam's Square (Meidam Imam) is now a World Heritage Site (UNESCO). Over 1,500 years old, the city offers a wealth of architectural wonders, from its bridges to its mosques, and its river and mild weather make it an attraction for untold thousands of visitors. Isfahan was commissioned by the Philadelphia Chamber Ensemble in celebration of its 30th anniversary, and the world premiere was performed by that ensemble in March 2007. Composer Ranjbaran describes Composer Ranjbaran describes his piece as follows, "Isfahan is one continuous movement. The primary theme is heard in its simplest form at the beginning of the piece by the harp, followed by a more florid and ornamental rendition by the clarinet. Throughout the piece, the main theme develops, varies, and transforms continuously. After much development, the piece returns to its expressive duet for the clarinet and the harp."
SKU: 114-41322
Duration: 14:00
Tempo: Adagio Con Espressione (q = 50)
Dedication: to Margarita and Donald Montanaro
Commission Notice: commissioned by the Philadelphia Chamber Ensemble
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 0.61875 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-57333-2
Copyright © 2022 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.