String Quartet No. 1

Variations On A Theme

Philip Maneval (composer)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Violoncello
Custom Print
Allow 4-5 days


Made available from composer's original edition
Dedicated to Ivan Chan and the Miami String Quartet, who premiered the work in 1995. (1992) For advanced performers. Duration: 25' "...a one-movement work with tremendous variety and energy... there is a good deal of original and appealing material. Each of its 10 sections brings something different - pizzicato, mutes, a fugue, cadenzas. Finally, at the end, the theme upon which the variations are based appears for the first time, in a slow and slightly weepy form." -Peter Dobrin, Philadelphia Inquirer
SKU: 114-41113
Ensemble: String Quartet
Duration: 26:00
Tempo: Adagio Espressivo (q = 48)
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 1.125 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-01612-9
Adagio espressivo
Andante molto cantabile
Allegro Vivace
Adagietto; andante ma non troppo
Fugato: Allegramente
Adagio ma agitato; a la cadenza
Allegro con brio
Tema: Lento
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.