Three Mysteries of Nagasaki

Daniel Dorff (composer)


  • Violin
  • Percussion (crotales (2 octaves), glockenspiel, vibraphone, 1 tubular bell, 3 triangles, anvil (ossia cowbell or brake drum tuned to G), 2 suspended cymbals, 2 unpitched gongs, tam-tam, large bass drum (at least 30)
    • Crotales (2 octaves)
    • Glockenspiel
    • Vibraphone (no motor)
    • 1 Tubular Bells
    • 3 Triangle
    • Anvil (ossia cowbell or G brake drum)
    • 2 Suspended Cymbal
    • 2 Gong (unpitched)
    • Tam-tam
    • Bass Drum (large - at least 30 inches)


Three Mysteries of Nagasaki was inspired by the eerie darkness and ambiguous bells of the oldest Western church in Japan. Dorff’s program note describes impressions of his visit to Nagasaki while withholding any explanation of the three movements. The 13-minute work is a duo for violin and one percussionist, with an array of pitched and unpitched ringing metallic instruments plus bass drum.
SKU: 114-41079
Duration: 13:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Set of Performance Scores
Page count: 32
Weight: 0.3 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-01558-0
ISBN: 978-1-4911-1268-7
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.