Concerto No. 1

For Timpani and Orchestra

William Kraft (composer), Zita Carno (piano reduction) (arranger)


  • Timpani
  • Piano (Reduction)


A timpani concerto written by a master timpanist is a rarity, indeed, and Kraft's Concerto No. 1 has become the go-to solo for timpanists who get to step out front. William Kraft was principal timpanist of the LA Philharmonic for 18 of his 26 years with the orchestra, assistant conductor for 3 of those years, and after his retirement served as its composer-in-residence for four seasons. During this latter period, he composed Concerto No. 1 for soloist Thomas Akins and the Indianapolis Symphony. With its 5 timpani set, the use of a variety of beaters and gloves expands the soloist's palette. The second movement is dedicated to Kraft's mother, who died during its composition; it is subtitled "Poem for Timpani, Two String Orchestras, Celeste, and Percussion," and the strings are divided antiphonally. We are pleased to make this piano reduction available.
SKU: 114-40971
Duration: 23:00
Tempo: Allegretto (q = 90)
Dedication: "Dedicated to Thomas N. Akins" (Movement II: "In Memory of My Mother"
Commission Notice: Commissioned by Indiana Percussion Projects, Inc.
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.65 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-01452-1
ISBN: 978-1-4911-0119-3
I. Allegretto
II. Poem For Timpani, Two String Orchestras, Celesta and Percussion, In Memory of My Mother
III. Fleeting
Copyright © 2024 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.