Clarinet Concerto

Katherine Hoover (composer)


  • Clarinet in B
  • Piano
Score and Parts
Three movements, with a debt to big bands and jazz. Written for and premiered by Eddie Daniels with the Santa Fe Symphony September 1987. The Clarinet Concerto was written in 1986-87 for the jazz virtuoso Eddie Daniels. Eddied has an active interest in many kinds of music and performs the classical repertoire as well as improvising brilliantly. In writing this piece I have used material from both traditions. The Concerto is structured in a familiar format of three movements, with numerous elements of jazz and big band sounds - harmonies, rhythms, riffs, and some improvisation. The first and last movements, both lively, frame an Elegy, written on the death of a friend. - K. Hoover.
SKU: 114-40474
Duration: 22:00
Dedication: for Eddie Daniels
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.43125 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-00806-3
Copyright © 2021 Theodore Presser Company. All rights reserved.