Tag Archives: Amanda Harberg

Amanda Harberg: Prayer

…heartfelt and expressive… powerful. Beautiful… in a variety of settings, from church services to concert halls.

–Timothy Hagen, The Flutist Quarterly
Court Dances

For Flute and Piano

Duration: 14′
Commission: Commissioned by a consortium of 57 flutists, organized by flutist Cobus du Toit.
Premiere: August 13, 2017. Cobus du Toit, flute, Amanda Harberg, piano; 45th Annual National Flute Association Convention; Minneapolis Convention Center, Minneapolis, MN.
Movements: I. Courante
II. Air de Cour
III. Tambourin

List of Consortium Commissioners:
Asako Arai
Claudia Anderson
Christine Erlander Beard
Bel Canto Flute Academy
Danielle Breisach
Cindy Anne Broz
Elizabeth Buck
Jenny Cline
Sheryl Cohen
Cady Coleman
Julietta Curenton
Monica Daniel-Barker
Susan Davis
Michelle Demko
James Donahue
Penny Douglas
Brian Dunbar
Cobus du Toit
Katherine Emeneth
Jill Felber
Janet Fitchuk
Brad Garner
Lisa Garner Santa
Eileen Grycky
Paula Gudmundson
Christine Gustafson
Kristin Hayes
Lois Bliss Herbine
Kim Hickey
Emily Kaplan
Jennifer Keeney
Robert Langevin
Stephen Lee
Eric Leise
Nadine Luke
Carolyn May
James Miller
Mary Beth Norris
September Payne
George Pope
Gretchen Pusch
Karen Johnson
Lucian Rinando
Beth Ross Buckley
Geri Rotella-Rotter
Silver Flight Ensembles and Foundation
Laura Schulkind
Nickolas Stavros
Kate Steinbeck
Wendy Stern
Julie Duncan Thornton
Phiroze Titina
Megan Trach
Jim Walker
Susan Waller
Mila M. Weiss
Tammy Evans Yonce
Alan Zaring

Celebrating our Composer’s Awards and Accolades

Over the past few weeks, many of our composers have received honors for their contribution and dedication to music. Below is a brief summary of their most recent awards and accolades.

Carter Pann’s 2013 composition for saxophone quartet, The Mechanics: Six from the Shop Floor, was recently named a finalist for the 2016 Pulitzer Prize. Each movement within this work “depicts, in a very colorful way, an aspect of auto mechanics and/or the ‘grease monkey’ lifestyle. Pann effectively uses different styles of music to convey the car parts or mood he is trying to depict” (Audiophile Audition).
Earlier this month Paul Lansky was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters as one of its twelve new members. The Academy, founded in 1898, is an honor society of the country’s leading architects, artists, composers, and writers.
DePaul University has selected composer Ronald Caltabiano to lead its School of Music as its new dean.
Congratulations to all of the Theodore Presser Company, Carl Fischer Music, and Affiliate Publishers winners at the National Flute Association’s 2016 Newly Published Music Competition. This list of awards includes an astounding seven winners – Daniel Dorff, Amanda Harberg, Emmanuel Pahud, Chris Potter, Paula Robison (edited by Frederic Hand), Dan Welcher, and Ellen Taaffe Zwilich – twelve finalists, and seven honorable mentions. View the full list of awards here.
National Flute Association Winners

Winners at the National Flute Association Composition Competition

Congratulations to all of Theodore Presser Company, Carl Fischer Music, and Affiliate Publishers winners at the National Flute Association’s 2016 Newly Published Music Competition.  Here is a list of our awards:


Flute and Piano

Winner: Amanda Harberg – Feathers and Wax

Winner: Emmanuel Pahud – Wer hat dies Liedel erdacht?

Finalist: Martin Amlin – Morceau de Concours

Finalist: Valarie Coleman – Wish

Finalist: Amanda Harberg – Poem and Transformations

Finalist: Gary Schocker – Wabi-Sabi

Finalist: Rahbari Fereshteh – Curtain Up!

Honorable Mention: Nicola Mazzanti – Sonata in C, K. 545

Honorable Mention: Adriana Isabel Figueroa Manas – Rhapsodia Andina

Honorable Mention: Henrik Wiese – Märchenbilder Op. 113


Solo Works

Finalist: Eric Ewazen – A Night in New Orleans

Finalist: Louis Moyse – Seven Caprices-Etudes for Flute and Piano

Honorable Mention: Anton Pfeiffer – Fantaisie sur Benyovszky, Op. 26


Flute Concerto

Winner: Ellen Taaffe Zwilich – Concerto Elegia

Finalist: Robert Stallman – The Magic Flutist, Volume II

Honorable Mention: Jonathan Leshnoff – Flute Concerto


Flute Methods

Winner: Chris Potter – Vibrato Workbook

Finalist: John Walker – The Flute in the Attic


Chamber Works for Flute

Finalist: Flutronix – Flock

Honorable Mention: Diego Collatti – Tango Flute Duets

Honorable Mention: Derek Charke – Raga Saat


Chamber Works for Flute and Other Instruments

Winner: Paula Robison, Edited by Frederic Hand  – La Serenata

Winner: Dan Welcher – Forest Devil Waltzes

Finalist: Gary Schocker – Sextet


Woodwind Quintet

Winner: Daniel Dorff – Cape May Breezes


Flute Choir

Finalist: Jonathan Cohen – She Flutters Me!