Sonata op. 2 No.4 "La Lumague" op. 2/4

(after Capriccio op.1 No. 24 for violin solo)

Michel Blavet

Barockmusik fur Blockfloete
Instrumentation: treble recorder and basso continuo
Item Number: RL40360
Publisher: Musikverlag Robert Lienau
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Michel Blavet (1700-1768) was a very famous and popular musician in his lifetime. Although he was an autodidact on many instruments, his main instrument was the flute traversière which he played left-handed. His compositions mix both Italian and French styles. Formally, his sonatas are suites and often have programmatic titles. The sonata op. 2 No. 4 is also called "La Lumague“. Marie de Lumague (1599–1657) founded the Caritas movement in France during the reign of Louis XIII. It is assumed that both this woman and her work inspired Blavet to write this beautiful sonata.

Additional Information