Woodwind Quartet No. 3


Robert Martin

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Woodwind Quartet
Item Number: 144-40566
Duration: 0:11:30
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Martin discusses his childhood fascination with composition, and eventual discovery of counterpoint, fugues, and canons. He was brought up short, upon learning that such composition was so out of favor at 1970-era Peabody. Even so, he created his third quartet, Canons, from his journals of those previous efforts. "These movements are titled Prelude, Episode I, Interlude, Aria, Episode II, and Meditation. There are canons, fugue-like pieces, and even some double canons. Other sections are strict in pitch but free in rhythm. One piece is imitative, but freely so." For advanced performers. Dur.: 11'30"

Woodwind Quartet No. 3

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Woodwind Quartet No. 3 - Set of Parts
Woodwind Quartet No. 3 - Full Score - Study

Additional Information


I. Prelude
II. Episode I
III. Interlude
IV. Aria
V. Episode II
VI. Meditation