Where The Heart Is Pure

For Mezzo-soprano and Piano

Peter Scott Lewis

Voice and Piano
Instrumentation: Mezzo-soprano, Piano
Item Number: 111-40254
Number of Pages: 36
Duration: 16:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Where the Heart is Pure was premiered in 1995, originally for mezzo-soprano and large chamber ensemble or chamber orchestra. Three distinct movements are based upon poems by Lewis' long-time friend, Robert Sund, a voice of the Pacific Northwest. In this duo version, Lewis has reworked the piano part, he says, "To create a concert version highlighting the strengths of that instrument and not merely a piano reduction."

Additional Information


I. Where the Heart is Pure
II. Night Along the Columbia
III. Spring Poems in the Skagit Valley