War and Peace

Lukas Foss

Instrumentation: Solo Organ
Item Number: CY2403
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

A major work for large organ, War and Peace was commissioned by the American Guild of Organists. The composer points out that "work on this piece began on the 50th Anniversary of Hiroshima," the final shot fired in the U.S. war with Japan. Foss describes the cycle of war and peace in three movements: I. Fear and Distress; II. Shots, and Explosions; III. Aftermath / Prayer.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • CY2403

Additional Information