Concerto for Violin and Orchestra

Behzad Ranjbaran

Performing Ensemble: Violin with Orchestra
Duration: 31:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

I was thrilled when the National Endowment for the Arts awarded me a grant to write a violin concerto. This was an opportunity to revisit some of my musical impression of the Persian "Kamancheh", an ancient Persian bowed instrument, considered to be one of the ancestors to the modern violin.

From my early years in the Tehran Music Conservatory, I was mesmerized by the sound of the "Kamancheh". Therefore the notion of writing a violin concerto that incorporates the poser and the brilliance of modern instruments on one hand, and the intimacy of an ancient solo instrument on the other hand, was simply irresistible.

My Violin Concerto is in three movements and lasts just under half an hour. Some of its musical ideas are inspired by Persian modes and rhythms. The first and the third movements share similar musical materials. The overall structure of the first movement is in a modified sonata-allegro form. The Adagio second movement is in essence one long melody that continuously varies throughout the movement. The third movement, Allegro moderato, is festive in character and its main melodic material is directly connected to the first movement. At the peak, the themes of the first and the second movements re-emerge simultaneously with greater intensity, driving the concerto to an energetic finale.

The score of the Violin Concerto is dedicated to my friend Joshua Bell, whose playing inspired me through the compositional process. Joshua Bell is that rare virtuoso whose playing captures both the brilliance of the modern sound and the intimacy and romanticism of the Old World.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.
Composition Date 1994
Orchestration Solo Vin.; 2(dbl. Picc.) 2(dbl. E.H.) 2 2 - 4 2 2 0; Timp. 2Perc. Cel. Hp. Str.
Premiere January 9 and 11, 2003Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, EnglandGerard Schwarz, conductorJoshua Bell, soloist


I. Andante - Allegro con brio
II. Adagio
III. Allegro Moderato

Score Preview