Triple Concerto

for Violin, Cello, Piano and Orchestra

Samuel Zyman

Duration: 00:27:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

I would describe the first movement as highly energetic, charged, rhythmic, and outgoing. Indeed, one of this movement?s most characteristic ideas is primarily rhythmic, with a kind of syncopation that reminds me of a ?Latin? beat. The three solo instruments get the spotlight sometimes individually and other times together. The orchestra proudly shows off its percussion section, which includes, among other instruments, bongos, xylophone, vibraslap, claves, drums, and cymbals. Most of the time, everyone seems to be powerfully driven to move forward, with little opportunity to reflect or look back. To the extent that there is any introspection, it happens in the cadenza, towards the end of the movement, and is mostly assigned to the solo cello. Still, the movement ends with a fast and loud return of its energetic nature. The overall feeling of the movement is almost festive. In stark contrast, the second movement is slow, dark, and elegiac. It opens with the solo cello playing an introspective version of one of the main themes of the first movement. The music is intense, sad, and mournful, a reflection of the senseless and shocking killing of thousands of human beings that we are witnessing in our own time in many parts of the world on a daily basis. After two orchestral climaxes are reaching in the central section of the movement, the music comes to a cadenza, starting with the solo cello and following with the piano and then the violin. The material of the cadenza is meant to evoke ancient Jewish prayer-like chanting, a style that, I think, can convey the lamentation and despondency prompted in me by the incomprehensible loss of so many lives.

A central theme from the second movement reappears, powerfully reenergized, to launch the frantic third movement, marked ?energico? and displaying the direction ?feroce? (ferocious). This movement makes me think of someone running, looking for something, relentlessly pushing forward. Only a chorale-like section in the center of the movement provides some respite. In this movement, the three soloists mostly play together and engage in a series of vigorous give-and-takes with the orchestra. The movement ends loudly, with the three soloists joining the orchestra in a final tutti. My Triple Concerto is warmly dedicated to Gabriel Pilego.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Mexico-USA Fund for Culture (Fideicomiso para la Cultura M
Composition Date 2006
Orchestration Vln. Vcl. Pno. Soli; 3(Picc.) 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 1; Timp. 3Perc. Str.
Premiere 28th April, 2007. Curt Thompson, Violin, Jes


I. Allegro con brio
II. Adagio
III. Energico