Stacy Garrop

Score and Part(s)
Instrumentation: Viola, Piano
Item Number: 114-41828
Number of Pages: 28
Duration: 13:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Torque Mvt 1
Media Icon
Torque Mvt 2
Media Icon
Torque I.Momentum
Viacheslav Dinerchtein, Mauricio Nader
Media Icon
Torque II.Stasis
Viacheslav Dinerchtein, Mauricio Nader

Quick Overview

This tour de force consists of two movements that are complete opposites. Movement I, titled Momentum, starts with the viola and piano aggressively  sharing a single note. Things start swirling out of control: the music gains greater and greater tension as the musicians turn and twist their way into ever smaller spirals, right up to the end of the movement. Movement II, titled Stasis, offers a peaceful, gentle unwinding of the pressure. Torque was commissioned by the Barlow Endowment for violist Viacheslav Dinerchtein.

More Views

  • Torque

Additional Information


I. Momentum
II. Stasis