Three Meditations

For Viola And Organ

Adolphus Hailstork

Solo Part(s) and Full Score
Performing Ensemble: Mixed Duet
Instrumentation: Viola, Organ
Item Number: 114-41762
Number of Pages: 16
Duration: 14:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

The American Guild of Organists celebrated its 2016 annual convention by commissioning Adolphus Hailstork to create a one-movement work for Viola and Organ, for which Hailstork created the haunting Lenten Mourning Tears. Engulfed in inspiration and ideas for this striking instrumental pairing, the composer added a mystically beautiful Christmas movement, and a sublime Easter, resulting in a three-movement concert suite whose movements could also stand alone for liturgical settings. For advanced organists.

More Views

  • 114-41762
  • Three Meditations

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the American Guild of Organists for the Biennial National Convention in Houston, TX, 2016


1. Christmas
2. Lent (Lenten Mourning Tears)
3. Easter