The Snow Queen

(Based on the story by Hans Christian Andersen.)

Julia Scott Carey

Duration: 00:04:50
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The story ?The Snow Queen,? by Hans Christian Andersen, is a story of courage, love, and sacrifice. Two Children, Kay and Gerda, must face the evils forced upon them by goblins, an evil mirror, and the Snow Queen. My piece corresponds to this story and is in four parts. The first part, a processional, opens with a single oboe sounding like a human voice and drawing us into the story. The second part is a fast-moving sleigh ride beginning with the crack of a whip. String pizzicati show quick motion, and harp glissandi bring us flying into the air, over the cracking ice far below. We descend into the ice palace of the Snow Queen, a cold and empty place. Gerda?s arrival at the Snow Queen?s ice palace is announced by the Snow Queen?s thundering evil forces, represented by a timpani solo. However, these forces are met by angels with trumpets, and the end is a triumph of love and loyalty.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Wellesley Symphony Orchestra
Composition Date 1997
Orchestration 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 2 2 - 2 2 0 0; Timp. Perc. Hp. Str.
Premiere December 7, 1997, Wellesley Symphony Orchestra, Framingham, Massachusetts.