The Past, the Passion

for 14 Players

George Tsontakis

Duration: 00:16:00
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

One of the few joys of being a composer is the luxury of being able to sit back and reflect on a work after several interpretations have been tried in performance and discover a new dimension at work in the piece. This is often something that was not consciously anticipated during the busy, get-it-done phase of composing. Originally, I conceived of "The Past, The Passion" as two distinct parts; the first, extroverted, containing snippets from past musical gestures, and the second, introverted, based on the first seven notes of Bach?s chorale, "Herzlich thut mich verlangen" from his "St. Matthew Passion". Each part lasts nearly eight minutes, separated by a piccolo left suspended, out of the cascading energy of the first part.

Years later, after divorcing myself from the compositional process, I am struck ? as any listener might ? with the psychology of the work more than the work?s more surface contrasts. If emotion, psychology and spirit are three planes in ascending order, then "The Past, The Passion" seems now to me a work that passes freely through all three, culminating in the third of these planes, in a kind of release. The basic medium is liquid, dreamlike, out of which both nightmarish as well as consoling images emerge ? often with unexpected force and impulse. "The Past, The Passion" was commissioned by Merkin Concerto Hall for Gerard Schwarz and Music Today. It is dedicated to the memory of Emanuel Tsontakis.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Hebrew Arts School for conductor Gerard Schwarz and Music Today, under the original title ??And Pained to be Delivered.?
Composition Date 1987
Orchestration 1(Picc.) 1(E.H.) 1 0 - 2 1 1 0; Perc. Pno. Hp. Str. (1 0 1 1 1)
Premiere 4th March, 1987. Music Today, conducted by Gerard Schwarz, Merkin Concert Hall, New York, NY.

Score Preview