The Mechanics

For Saxophone Quartet

Carter Pann

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Saxophone Quartet
Instrumentation: Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone
Item Number: 114-41664
Number of Pages: 76
Duration: 16:30
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company


Sample Media

Media Icon
The Mechanics

Quick Overview

Carter Pann composed The Mechanics in 2013 at the rustic MacDowell Colony in New Hampshire, as a commission for the Capitol Quartet. Pann describes “picturing all four gentlemen of the Capitol Quartet to be dressed as old-time auto mechanics, smudged with grit and grease, performing in the middle of my brother’s taxicab stand (which is also a full-service auto shop with two hydraulic lifts).”

More Views

  • The Mechanics
  • The Mechanics

Additional Information


I. Hoist
II. Drive Train
III. Belt
IV. Flywheel
V. Balance
VI. Trash