Symphony No. 3

For Symphonic Wind Ensemble

David Maslanka

Full Score - Large
Performing Ensemble: Wind Ensemble
Instrumentation: Piccolo 1, 2, Flute 1, 2, Oboe 1, 2, English Horn, Clarinet in Eb, Clarinets 1, 2, 3 in Bb, Bass Clarinet in Bb, ContraBass Clarinet in Bb, Bassoons 1, 2, ContraBassoon, Alto Saxophones 1, 2 in Eb, Tenor Saxophone in Bb, Baritone Saxophone in Eb, Horns 1,
Item Number: SC61
Number of Pages: 232
Duration: 0:49:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

The largest of David Maslanka's wind symphonies in scale and duration, Symphony No. 3 was commissioned by the University of Connecticut Symphonic Wind Ensemble, Gary Green, conductor, and premiered by them in 1991. It is in five movements and lasts nearly 50 minutes. The moderate tempo and forceful character of the first movement contrast with the serene "nature" music of the second movement. The third movement, a fast and bristling scherzo largely in A Minor, is followed by two slower movements, both labeled "lament." The composer characterizes the music of these movements as both sorrowful and joyful. The fifth movement, in particular, has the lamenting character overcome by an ecstatic vision of natural beauty and the life force. Symphony No. 3 is arguably Maslanka's most profound and satisfying large-scale work, and it ends in an unequivocal A Major that has the feeling of a benediction. Large score and parts are available on rental.

Symphony No. 3

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Symphony No. 3 - Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 1991
Duration 49:00


Program Notes
About David Maslanka
Movement I (Moderate)
Movement II
Movement III (Very Fast)
Movement IV (Lament)
Movement V (Lament)