Symphony No. 2

Chen Yi

Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Duration: 00:18:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Commissioned by The Women?s Philharmonic, San Francisco, in 1993, the one movement work in Largo is dedicated to the memory of my dearest father Chen Er-nan M.D., who had his whole life devoted to the people in his motherland. By the time I began to understand human being?s sincereness and honesty, ignorance, servility and avariciousness, during the tragic Cultural Revolution which took place in China, a voice of yearning for civilization has been haunting me continuously. It?s impossible to return to a primitive simplicity. We have to perfect ourselves and bring civilization to more people in the world, through education in the reforming society. My "Symphony No. 2" contains the experiences of waking up to reality, introspecting and longing. There are multi-line melodies in bass voice in the opening. The atmosphere of the heavy background is interrupted by the sharp percussion sound, which symbolizes the sparkle of the sudden epiphanies. Following a period of sincere meditation, presented by the solo flute, cello and clarinets, the music is brought to a climax expressively. The ending part, presented by the soft lingering gestures on percussion and sliding harmonics on strings, carries a mysterious dream toward the future...

The work was given the world premiere by the Women?s Philharmonic in San Francisco on Jan. 29, 1994, the US East coast premiere by the American Composers Orchestra at Carnegie Hall in New York on April 30, 1995, and European premiere by the Hall

Scores & Parts

Symphony No. 2 - Full Score - Study
Symphony No. 2 - Full Score - Large

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by The Women?s Philharmonic
Composition Date 1993
Orchestration 3 3(E.H.) 3(B.Cl.) 3(Cbsn.) - 4 3 3 1; Timp. 3Perc. Hp. Str.
Premiere January 29th, 1994. Women?s Philharmonic, conducted by JoAnn Falletta, San Francisco, California.

Score Preview