Symphony No. 1

for Large Orchestra

John Melby

Duration: 00:40:30
Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The composition of my Symphony No. 1 was begun late in 1991 and was completed in May of 1993. The work is cast in one extended movement, which is, however, divided into sections somewhat reminiscent of those found in most pieces of this sort having multiple movements. The Symphony makes use of the typical instrumental resources of the usual large orchestra (including a full complement of clarinets ranging from the soprano E-flat to the B-flat contrabass clarinet, a contrabassoon, a large percussion battery, celesta, and two harps rather than the single harp usually specified). In addition, the scoring calls for several instruments not totally alien to the symphonic environment, but nevertheless infrequently encountered ? specifically, four Wagner tubas (played during certain portions of the work by the members of the horn section), and a fl

Additional Information

Composition Date 1991-93
Orchestration 3(Picc./A.Fl.) 3(E.H.) 3(Cl. in A/B.Cl./Cb.Cl.) 3(Cbsn.) - 4 3(Flugelhorn) 3(B.Tbn.) 1; Timp. 3Perc. 2Hp. Str.
Premiere 16th March, 1994. UI Symphony, conducted by Paul Martin Zonn. Foellinger Great Hall, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign