Symphony 'Humen 1839'

(Co-composition by Chen Yi and Zhou Long)

Chen Yi

Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Duration: 00:30:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

A four movement symphonic work for full orchestra, commissioned by the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra, to commemorate the 170th anniversary of the Destroying Opium Campaign in Humen, Guangdong in 1839. This four-movement symphony is dedicated to this event of great significance that happened in Humen, Guangdong. First performed on September 13, 2009 at Xinghai Concert Hall in Guangzhou, China, conducted by Yu Long.

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Guangzhou Symphony
Composition Date 2009
Orchestration 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 3(B.Cl.) 3(Cbsn.) - 4 3 3(B.Tbn.) 1; Timp. 3Perc. Pno./Cel. Hp. Str.
Premiere Sept. 13, 2009, Guangzhou Symphony, conducted by Long Yu


Mvt. 1 Andante brioso
Mvt. 2 Allegro intenso
Mvt. 3 Lento tragico
Mvt. 4 Allegro spiritoso

Score Preview