Symphony #1 In E Minor

Howard Hanson

Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Instrumentation: 3(Picc.) 2 2 3(CBassoon,) - 4 2 3 1; Timp. Percussion, Hp. Str.
Item Number: ETB1F
Publisher: Eastman School of Music
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

The ever-groundbreaking Howard Hanson became the first composer to win the Prix de Rome in Music in 1921. This led the young composer to a three-year stay in Italy, during which he wrote his first Symphony, among other important works. Upon his return to New York, he conducted a performance of Symphony No. 1, which brought him to the attention of one George Eastman, who also underwrote the funding of the Eastman School of Music. The Symphony may well have been instrumental in establishing Hanson's lifelong connection to the Eastman School, a connection which has served American concert music very well, indeed! We present here the 1929 edition from the Publications of the American Academy in Rome.

Symphony #1 In E Minor

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information